One of the first things that appealed to me about Edinburgh, when I first visited the Fringe back in 2001, was the sense of creative activity all around, as far and as deep as the senses could shovel. Little did I know that most of that activity was being performed by vanity extras, as I wrote earlier, irrelevant to most except as ambiance. So, it should be little surprise that after ten Edinburghs as a participant, I have seen very few shows not my own. (Come to think of it, I haven’t seen mine either.) This despite the fact that, in theory, seeing shows is a primary allure for me.

But not other talking comedy shows. Theater! Cabaret! Sketch! Art! THESE are the things I would be experiencing if I experienced anything at all. I’ve never understood the stand-up’s desire to watch only other stand-ups.

What could be more boring?

Leave a Reply

